Tribal Government

After towns had been formed, a system of consolidation was devised so that all the towns were brought under one head.  This tribal government was a very loose condfederation of towns at best.  The one thing that kept the towns under the control of the Ugu was the Atsila Galvkawetiyu, "Sacred Fire."  All knew that the Sacred Fire was located where the power was, no matter where that town was located.
  The towns sent their delegates to elect an Ugu, "Head Chief," of all the chiefs.  The tribe was divided into Red and White Societies, each having a chief, the War Chief for the Red Society and the Peace Chief for the White Society.
  To aid the Ugu, that wasn an anaska, "council," to assist him, which were made up of seven counselors, one elected from each of the seven clans in the tribe, a council of elder men and elder women, the tribal Women's Council, the Greatly Beloved Woman, a Speaker of the Tribal Council, a judicial system of elders elected by the people, seven messengers, and several Anidawehi as advisors and conductors of religious ceremonines.
  The Tribal Council met in the principal town where the Sacred Fire was located.  The first town was Kituwas, located on the east side of the Great Smokey Mountains.  The last great town was Itsati, located on the west side of the Great Smokey Mountains along the Little Tennessee River.

[First Town is Formed]  [Building the Mound and Sacred Fire]  [Forming Clans]  [Family Dwellings]  [Fields]
[Tribal Government]  [Leaders]  [Red and White Organizations]  [The War Women]  [Warriorship and War Titles]
[Diplomacy]  [Immunity of Ambassadors]  [Marriage and Divorce]  [Tobacco Pipes]  [The Ceremonial War Hatchet]
[Take Up The Hatchet]  [Bury The Hatchet]  [Traders and Merchants]  [Craftsmen and Industrial Arts]  [Games]
[Taboo]  [Burial]  [Book Main]